The biggest risk in Google’s $1 billion bet on SpaceX

RV_

This is opening up another disruptive technology. Investors need to be aware of this possibility, and I encourage you do a lot of reading on what's happening now in these vertical markets that are soon to be expanded to all.

I've been talking about Musk and Tesla here on this forum since 2003. One thread from 2011 covers my investment in Tesla, freely sharing announced timetables and ticking off each executed item on time or close enough. People ignored it, or called it a pump and dump. (Bill you weren't the first, another member from the start of these forums beat you to that back in 2003. I sure hope y'all didn't put your money where your mouth was and lost big shorting them.)

I never pretended to know anything about investing. Made no claims. Quoted no experts. Have no idea how to do a short, and don't want to learn.

But I can see where some things are inevitable. I've said them here and they've proved out. This has nothing to do with being right, but doing right. When I mention LEO satellites some folks roll their eyes and mutter about Iridium.

This news was not unexpected. We saw Google's satellite Internet guy form a company for just that, enlist Musk to develop and design the mini satellite, as designed under 250 pounds each. Bill Gates wanted to do this 12-14 years ago but he did not have a rocket scientist nor was one himself. Musk is.

Excerpt:

"Google is pinning its hopes for cheap, space-based Internet on Elon Musk. But can he deliver?