Installing propane heater in existing line

djbroughton

http://s1348.photobucket.com/user/djbroughton/library/

I would like to install my new Olympian Wave 8 catalytic heater into my existing propane system. The best spot that I can see is under my main counter area (built into one of the slides). The attached photo of the line that services the propane range is where I am thinking of doing this. Also a photo of the heater connection. Questions:

1. can I plumb this using brass fittings as opposed to cutting copper line/flaring etc. as I am not experienced with this.
2. what kind of hose would I purchase to run to the heater?
3. the heater comes with a low pressure regulator. Am I right in assuming that gas to the stove is already low pressure and I won't need a regulator?

4. I don't suppose I can use the low pressure propane line supplied with the heater?
5. out of curiousity, what is green is the heavy guage green wire attached to the copper propane tubing?

I haven't totally decided on whether a quick connect is needed or if I will permanently mount the heater on the bottom of the counter unit.

Thanks for any advice.

Dave B

2006 Monaco Camelot 40PDQ

I hooked up a heater like yours just a little while back.

1. Yes, put a T in place of the adapter to the hose that is there and plumb the line to the heater.

2. I ran copper tubing to mine, you can use the hose make sure it is clear of any danger of being cut or broken.

3. You are correct, the regulator is next to the propane tank and serves the RV.

4. Yes, see above.

5. Ground wire.

6. I would recommend permanently mounting it somewhere safe. If the hose will not reach use copper tubing to plumb it. If you are not familiar with plumbing such appliances you should get professional help. If you use copper you will need the flex end sold by the heater company more than likely. A good plumber should have everything you will need.