Propane usage question

Bballance

Newbie here. I have a 2013 Allegro 36LA and am curious about expected propane usage. I have heard others say that their propane lasts for months. I understand everything depends on usage, climate, etc. I filled my tank Dec 1, parked it where it's been ever since and set the thermostat at 50 as I am not living in it yet, though will be in another week. I live in Savannah, GA, where nighttime temps have rarely gone below the mid 40's, and I estimate that the heater is not working 2 hrs all night. The coach gets full sun exposure all day, so it's running interior daytime temps of high 60's to low 70's. Last night the temp fell to the low 20's. In preparation I checked fuel and it was at 1/4 tank.

Does that seem reasonable to have used that much from Dec 1 to Jan 7? Oh, and the furnace is the only thing using gas. I'm on electric for everything else. Thanks so much.

The standard forced air propane furnace in RV's consume a lot of propane. So yes, a month of use will take you down to 1/4 tank left. Keep in mind the tank is only filled to 80% for safety purposes. You can't fill it more than that.

As mentioned above, unless the outside temps drop down into the mid to upper 20's for several hours, you don't need to heat the MH. Now it the temp was to get down to say 28 degrees and stay there for 12 or more hours then yes you need to heat the MH. If it was to get really cold, say down to 15* to 20* and stay that way for 12-24 hours you will want to not only have the heat on, but to open the cabinet doors by the kitchen sink and bathroom. The pipes under the counters near the outside wall will freeze with the cabinet doors closed.

Al & Sharon
2006 Winnebago Journey 36G 
2020 Chevy Colorado Toad
San Antonio, TX

http://downtheroadaroundthebend.blogspot.com/