New To RVing

Hey so I am new to this lifestyle and just bought an RV since i have decided to go on a discomfort seeking mission. The plan is to go around all of Europe starting from Turkey in a few months from now. Basically what i want to know is everything that i am going to need for this venture, be it a tool kit, a set of tyres or any modification the RV before setting off. Appreciate any input and ideas.

P.S I have a truck camper

Edited by michaelnielson95

Welcome to the Escapee forums! While many of us here have been traveling by RV for many years, very few of us have done so in Europe. As for mechanical tools to carry, I would fist as myself how much mechanical repair I have the skills to do and will I be in places where qualified mechanics are difficult to find? Remember that tools are quite heavy and your truck has weight limits to be concerned with. If you overload the truck it will be difficult and uncomfortable to drive and the excess weight will impact the reliability of the truck since it is only designed to carry a specified amount of weight. Excessive weight will also increase tire wear. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

That sounds like a great trip!

Kirk is right about tools weighing a lot and that you shouldn’t get carried away with buying tools, especially if you aren’t handy and have little idea how to use them.

The other thing that you have to deal with is that you are going to be going in a truck camper, and you won’t have as much storage space as someone with a larger RV like a motor home or a trailer.  I’ve seen lists of things RVers could/should have that goes on for pages - far too much stuff to carry in a truck camper.  So when you are outfitting it - think small, light and multi-tasking.  Nesting pots, collapsible bowls, minimal plates/silverware, etc.