Hi,

We're interested in looking at a few escape coop parks to possibly put some money down on a waiting list.  For anyone owning one, what is the total out of pocket we are looking at?  In other words, in addition to the purchase of the lot itself, are there property taxes, electricity, utilities etc that are billed?  How does that work?  We are particularly interested in the WA and OR coop parks, but Benson AZ is a possibility as well.  Thanks for any info.

7 hours ago, drjenk said:

In other words, in addition to the purchase of the lot itself, are there property taxes, electricity, utilities etc that are billed?  How does that work? 

I think that you would probably get a wider range of answers if you were to post your co-op questions in the General Forum, as far more members read it since some ignore these market forums except when shopping for something. I am not an expert on the co-op parks but I am pretty familiar with how they work so will give my best answer. 

The first thing to remember is that each park is actually owned by the members who have bought lots there and the members of each park elect a board of directors who make all management decisions and hire any employees. While the co-op parks were begun by the Escapees RV Club, ones all memberships were sold the club retains no financial or management interest in the park and they have no voice in management decisions. There are a few things built into the incorporation of each which continue to require that park members be members of Escapees RV Club. For the above reasons the only way to know exact details is to contact each park's management.