Commercial / RV use with same tractor

KD4UPL

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum but not RVing or trucks. I used to drive an 18 wheeler for a living and I still have my class A CDL. I'm an electrical contractor and I use my dually pick-up to pull a flatbed with materials and equipment on it. I can't pull a GN or FW because of the ladder racks. My dually is an '05 with over 260,000 miles on it and needs to be replaced soon.

I currently don't have an RV but was thinking of getting a FW for our family of 5 to travel all over the country. I began to wonder about getting a used road tractor to pull it with for the additional power, braking, and room. I then realized I could use the same truck to tow a GN flatbed for hauling equipment around for the business. This would allow me to buy a gas work truck instead of a diesel, saving nearly $10,000 on the purchase price.I thought about even leaving it a tandem axle with the real fifth wheel in case I ever wanted to pull a real semi trailer for some reason.

I realize I would have to leave the truck a commercial vehicle, keep my license, and run a log book which I cam fine with doing all of those things. Can anyone see any problems with this plan? Can you use the real fifth wheel hitch to tow an RV? If not, can you have both the real one and an RV style hitch on the same truck?

I would want windows in the sleeper and a bench seat for my 3 children. I know that can be done but it's probably not that common.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Welcome!  Yes, it's possible to do as you outlined, but with some downsides.  First is the cost of insurance and license of a commercial v. Private or rv registered truck.  You can find out how this applies in your state by reading the HHRV guide listed at the top of this forum.

Like you, I found I could use a lesser truck for my business after I bought the hdt. I now use a half ton with a gas engine, and love it.  Trailers are relatively cheap and haul more than a pickup.