Workamping w/ only 30amp available

bcahal

I am brand new to Workamping and have an electrical question. I have an '05 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ with W/D, micro, satellite, etc. I have been offered a Workamping position in Central CA but the campground only has 30amp service. I will be onsite for 5 months. What types of limits will that put on me? I know I wouldn't be able to run everything at the same time. Can anyone offer some advice on this?? Thx Bill

It will severely limit the appliances you can run.  Add up the amperage on each appliance and  when you hit 30 amps, that is all.  One A/C and the microwave will max you out.  If you want to run the coffee maker or a hair drier, yo will need to shut off the microwave or A/C unit.

We have a 40 ft 5th wheel and 50 amps.  I will only go to 30 amp sites in the spring or fall when I can get by minimal A/C.  WE turn down 30 amp positions.

Ken

Amateur radio operator, 2023 Cougar 22MLS, 2022 F150 Lariat 4x4 Off Road, Sport trim <br />Travel with 1 miniature schnauzer, 1 standard schnauzer and one African Gray parrot

You will be able to do most everything on 30 amps. The only major restriction is running the air conditioner. You will only be able to run one a/c. You can make your coffee and then run the microwave but not both at the same time. Where in Central CA will you be? It does get hot in the summer in the Central Valley.

2015 Itasca Ellipse 42QD

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Hard Rock Edition

2021 Harley Street Glide Special 

Fulltimer

About half of our volunteering (not work camping) positions at State Parks and National Wildlife Refuges are on 30 amp services. It isn't a make or break consideration for us.  If we like the area and the work we adapt. We have to be a bit more careful with managing appliances but it doesn't really impact our lifestyle.