Yannick

Looking for basic lot in Texas

Hi everyone!

I am finally considering getting a deeded lot to grow stronger roots.  Ideally I would get something near Rainbow's End in Livingston, but I would be happy with many other locations in Texas.  Since this is my very first time shopping for land, I really don't know where to start.  I know people post about lots for sales here, but that probably only covers a very small fraction of the lots available.  Should I start calling real estate agents in Livingston or is there a better way to get my search started?

Thank you and happy travels!

On 12/3/2019 at 5:32 PM, 2gypsies said:

Here's a lot for sale with access to Lake Livingston for $4,900.  I just did a quick check & I'm sure you can find more.

https://www.zillow.com/homedetails/0-Rolling-Wood-Dr-Livingston-TX-77351/2096582937_zpid/

This lot demonstrates one of the issues that you'll have to sort out right away.  It is in a development (Shelter Cove) that has deed restrictions including "No camping trailer...or other structure of a temporary character shall at any time... be used as a residence temporarily or permanently...".  This restriction will be the case in many subdivisions, developments, etc.  So if you are looking for a place to build an RV pad you will probably need to be out in unincorporated areas of a county, outside of formal developments. 

The key will be to either find unrestricted land, and recognize that your neighbors are also unrestricted in terms of what they can do, or look for a lot in an RV or Mobile Home type development that is set up for exactly that type of structure. There are thousands of developments like that scattered throughout Texas, so deciding what area(s) appeals to you and then contacting a realtor or getting online and searching for deeded RV parks or unrestricted acreage is your best bet.