Tire Stems and TPMS

Dlvgolf

When I post, I always feel like I’m at a meeting, “ Hi, my name is Dave and I’m a newbie. I’ve been RV’ing for 1 week...”.  Any way, today’s adventure is installing a TPMS system on my RV and tow vehicle. 10 tires in all. I bought the TST pass through system. I’m familiar with 3rd party TPMS, as I have them on my motorcycle. Programming of the 10 sensors went fine. Installation was where I found the challenge. I’ve never had a vehicle with dual back tires, so I had no idea how the stems worked. I expected one to come out to the outside and the other the inside. I was so wrong. On my vehicle, The inside tire stem has a flexible extension on it and it comes through the outside tire rim. Very convenient. However the outside tire stem can be seen under the rim pointing toward the inside tire. I’ve attached a picture. My questions are, how do you even get a tire gauge on that tire stem to get the air pressure, let alone attach a TPMS monitor to it? Is this the standard configuration for dual tires or are mine out of whack? 

0EC015B7-8C4D-4165-8348-B4DAF3D370CB.jpeg

D7643146-B3DB-44EA-875D-05150728A53D.jpeg

Edited by Dlvgolf
Fixed typos

Welcome to Escapees.com discussion forums!

That stem positioning is unusual, but not unheard of; There are stem extensions sold to enable you to adjust air pressure, they even have 180° extensions but I doubt you'll require them. That is not the only company selling these, shop around for the best pricing.

These are not the ideal situation, as they add another possible air leak to the arrangement, and allow the pressure monitor to move/vibrate more, which weakens the valve stem.

When you have the opportunity, have permanent valve stems with the correct bend in them+ stabilizer grommets, to point outward, they are expensive and well worth the money IMO.

Please do not hesitate to ask any question, that's how people learn,  everyone here was a beginner at one point.

Edited by Ray,IN
lapse of memory