FL Domicile Steps

jerryss2

I am currently a california resident, but am retiring in the next few weeks.   We plan on getting an RV in January, and want to establish domicile in Florida.

I have the escapees Florida domicile guide, but we have many many questions:  Can anyone outline the steps and timing?

* Should we establish an escapees mailing address now or wait until January?

* should we make a trip to florida now or wait until January?

* How long should we plan to be in Florida to do all this?  ( License, banks, etc...)
* we are selling our car soon will buy a toad in March/april. so, we won't have to transfer and vehicles, yet

* Is the process hard or easy?    any links to other posts are appreciated.

Jerry

I can only respond to your Escapees mailing address. I would get the Livingston one now and begin moving everything over to the new address. You will only use your FL address for auto registration, DL and voting. Not sure about income tax.

You will be surprised how much you will need to move to the new address and how long it takes.

You don't need to get a different bank. Just change your address on your current accounts.

I assume you are are selling your house in CA and terminating all ties. Don't forget about wills etc when in FL.

I also don't see any reason to go to FL when you don't own anything that needs to be registered there at this time.

Are you keeping property in California?  If so, you may need to consult with an attorney.  There is more to "establishing a FL domicile" than just filling out a form.