Kwikee steps stuck retracted - cant get to the motor?

Hi there all,

Newbie here and already APPRECIATIVE of this forum.

I just bought a 1996 Itasca Sundance Class C.  The electric steps were working (sporadically and with a mind of their own - they would go in and out regardless of the door was open and even while standing on them) then they just stopped working all together and are retracted.  I do not hear the motor... have tested it with the switch both in on and off position, engine on and off.

I called the guy who  bought it from said he would tap on the magnet and sometimes that would get them to work again.

I got underneath to check the motor but it appears that the motor and assembly are mounted to the top stair which is covered by the bottom stair and not accessible... Any advice or ideas how I can get these suckers out to be able tp work on the electric motor?

Had somewhat the same problem. First check if it has a separate fuse in your panel.  I solved mine by spraying the living crap out of every pivot point I could see several times/days with PBR rust buster. Once it frees up (with a little help from your hand) work it back & forth. Then buy white lithium spray can grease & lube it. That little motor is at mechanical DISadvantage at either end of it's travel. Once you get it to half way out, start working back & forth more each time. Good luck!

Edited by ARGO

You'd have to see the movie to understand..........

27 minutes ago, ARGO said:

Had somewhat the same problem. First check if it has a separate fuse in your panel.  I solved mine by spraying the living crap out of every pivot point I could see several times/days with PBR rust buster. Once it frees up (with a little help from your hand) work it back & forth. Then buy white lithium spray can grease & lube it. That little motor is at mechanical DISadvantage at either end of it's travel. Once you get it to half way out, start working back & forth more each time. Good luck!