Engine Performance up-tuning

CharlieF

We have one on our 2004 f-350 and it is real easy to use just plug in and it tells you what to do depending on what you want,towing or normal driving. We have 2 towing and a couple of performance modes will look tomorrow to see what brand. We’re very happy with it on a bullet proofed 6.0 liter that tows a lot more than it was rated for stock and good mileage too. 

If you mean one of the performance mosuals, we also have one installed in our 2003 Dodge/Cummins. These generally may have some selectable settings but operate by themselves once installed and set up with little or no intervention by the operator. Power Programmers plug in to the OBDII port under your vehicle's dashboard. These programmers let you punch in some info about your vehicle, including the type of driving you want to do and what kind of modifications you've made to your car or truck. I have no experience with one of those. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

5 hours ago, CharlieF said:

I’m curious about those software devices that are used to up-tune engine performance. Are they difficult to operate and which devices have people used?

There's no "generic" answer. 

Go to one of the brand specific diesel forums (several for each) for your brand of truck.  It will have various sub-sections by the engines and transmissions for various years of your vehicle.

Find out what the owners (again - for your brand of truck) have to say - pros & cons as you add power modifications.

1 hour ago, ARGO said:

Yeah, but it's way cool to pass a big HP Moho uphill at 65, & shift to 10th as you  get next to him/her............

It's even more fun to stop and ask if you need a ride a few miles later as you sit on the side of the road with a torn up tranny, blown turbo or worse.