Auto former

Auto former  

11 members have voted

1. 1. I

• Plug mine in every time I connect my rig to power
    • Only plug it in when I see low voltage
    • I think it is a gimmick and a waste of money
    • Not sure what an auto-former is

We have a 50 amp Hugh’s Auto-former. I was just wondering how many people carry them? Do you just plug them in when the voltage is low or do you have it plugged in every time? 

My rig also has a Progressive Industries EMS system.

Edited by rynosback

2015 Ram 3500 RC DRW CTD AISIN 410 rear

2016 Mobile Suites 38RSB3

While I am very familiar with what the AutoFormer is and I know that it isn't a gimmick, I have never owned one and have no plans to do so. If we spent a lot of time in places where electric power was often overloaded and tended to experience voltage sag, I definitely would use one, but we do not. I have been using a TRC-Surge Guard power monitor device for many years. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

7 hours ago, rynosback said:

I was just wondering how many people carry them? Do you just plug them in when the voltage is low or do you have it plugged in every time? 

Great questions, I'm not an expert (long retired and rusty from practice) but I am familiar with such devices having spent much of my career as a Power Distribution Design Engineer so will offer my thoughts.

1) NO I do not carry one.

2) However if I did here are my recommendations and reasons for such.