risky or reasonable?

srogers

We love RVing, we’re 43/44, childfree by choice, & tired of the grind & high cost of living in our area. We want to take a sabbatical from the grind & travel the country full time for a few years while we’re still young & capable. We own a home in a suburb of San Francisco that we love but that needs a lot of maintenance & upgrades as it’s an older home (built in 1938). I am a teacher, hubby is a mechanic, I have 16 years of service credit toward retirement, hubby has never really saved for retirement. We are considering selling our home, which would net us approx $500k. We currently have a 26’ class A that is great but not up for a few years on the road, so we would be looking at getting a used short (32’) DP that we would pay cash for. We would then target investing $400k to hopefully earn some interest on and use later to buy another home in a less ridiculous area in terms of cost of living. We would absolutely have our portfolio managed by a pro since we have no investment acumen to speak of. We would attempt to use any interest and some savings to live off of while traveling, with an anticipated monthly budget of approx $3k. We plan to go back to work in a few years, since I’ll want to bolster my pension with more service years. We are not averse to working on the road but would start off just sightseeing & see if some mobile income becomes viable eventually. 

There are more details I’m leaving out but this is the skeleton of our plan. Is this just nuts and super risky or reasonable?

Sounds reasonable to me.  You seem to have thought out the finances well, including an exit plan. I did something similar, taking a year and a half long midlife break in my RV when I was in my mid 40s and it was great.