Sales Tax

SWharton

This is our first year as a full-timer with no state income tax. I am trying to figure out how to handle the Sales Tax deduction. The program asks where I was at the end of the year and assumes I was in that state all year. If I check off I lived in more than one place the program asks where I lived at the end of the year. Both answers are AZ though our domicile is TX.

Am I over analyzing this? Just go with the flow and let the program think I lived in AZ all year?

I would ask this on the HR Block community site but all my browsers stop me as they think the Community site is a security risk

Thanks

In the past when I itemized, I've done it both ways. Some years I just said I was a resident of SD the whole year (even though I was traveling fulltime) and used their rate. Other years for reasons I don't remember I went to the trouble of documenting how many months I was physically in SD, CO, NM, TX, etc ; and used multiple sales tax rates proportionately.

Lately, with the increases in the standard deduction, it harder for most to utilize the itemized deductions. 

I would also point out that if you use Tx as your sales tax residence, its 6.25% plus whatever the local rate adds on top that. In AZ it would be 5.6% plus any local adder.

Jim

OK, thanks for the insight. I did go through and figure out how many days we spent in each state thinking I would need to do the calculation that way and was floored when the program only asked me where I was in January and in December. I am thinking TX as a full year just to keep things in sync with our domicile. I didn't expect this deduction so I look at it as a bonus deduction.

This will be our last year for having deductions unless the law changes again.