Service Dogs?

FL-JOE

I am a Florida resident.  I have gotten used to being in a Publix or other business and seeing dogs in shopping carts, strollers, and on leads.  

We attended the Tampa RV show yesterday and I must say I was a little shocked.  I understood there were only suppose to be "service" animals allowed inside the show.  There were dozens of folks from my generation (baby boomers) with their fur babies.  Some were little 5 pounders and some were 150 pounders.  All of the owners looked pretty normal to me but apparently they have some type of mental issues and these canines keep them calmed down.  I was very sad at the end of the day to think that my generation had so many in such need.

Joe & Cindy

Newmar 4369 Ventana

Pulling 24' enclosed (Mini Cooper, Harley, 2 Kayaks)

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As it is anyone can claim any reasonably quiet animal is a service animal with no validation required. While I am not sure about adding another layer of bureaucracy but I think there needs to be some sort of standardization and certification of service animals. Perhaps via the ASPCA or something? It is all too easy to go online and get a "certificate" and a vest, just check out Amazon. 

SignatureNewest.jpg.a1bc8322b0862056fd28e25d5b1458db.jpg

1 hour ago, Chalkie said:

While I am not sure about adding another layer of bureaucracy but I think there needs to be some sort of standardization and certification of service animals.

With a family member who is dependant on her guide dog, I have come to agree with you on this. The way the law is written anyone can claim to have "self trained" their dog as a service dog. We once met a group who promoted the idea that everyone should go to Amazon and get service dog credentials for their pet so that it would be allowed to go everywhere. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI