Dually wheel wear

jerryneal

I would guess not normal, if all tires aired up to same psi, same tires, same age/same mileage?.  Cheap china tires?  More than one set, or has this been on-going with past tire sets?  I'm not a mechanic, but just guessing.  I've not had a set wear uneven like that.

2002 Fifth Avenue RV (RIP) 2015 Ram 3500 Mega-cab DRW(38k miles), 6.7L Cummins Diesel, A668RFE, 3.73, 14,000 GVWR, 5,630 Payload, 27,300 GCWR, 18,460 Max Trailer Weight Rating(For Sale) , living in the frigid north, ND.

I have had this issue. Make sure both tires are the same, tread depth and pressure. Even a little difference will were them out fast. If two are worn more and about the same and the other two about the same you can match them up but they won't last like two exact ones. I once read were the author recommended less air on the inside tire as he felt the truck ruts and the crown of the road made the inside cary more of the load. I never tried it. I did find that if I ran less air in each tire this didn't happen. I was running enough in each tire to carry the load single, so if his idea was correct my outside tire was not working very hard.

Every time you turn, of the two tires locked together, one is scrubbing because the distance traveled is different for each tire.

Please click for Emails instead of PM
Mark & Dale
Joey - 2016 Bounder 33C Tige - 2006 40' Travel Supreme
Sparky III - 2021 Mustang Mach-e, off the the Road since 2019
Useful HDT Truck, Trailer, and Full-timing Info at
www.dmbruss.com

Jerry,Here is the real skinny and yes you rotate. I just posted this in this forum, click on the arrow to the right below:

RV/Derek
http://www.rvroadie.com Email on the bottom of my website page.
Retired AF 1971-1998

When you see a worthy man, endeavor to emulate him. When you see an unworthy man, look inside yourself. - Confucius

“Those who can make you believe absurdities, can make you commit atrocities.” ... Voltaire