OT: Table Saws

SuiteSuccess

After 25 years my Craftsman 10” table saw is giving up the ghost.  Gonna try to refurbish if I can BUT... if you were going to get a new saw what would you get?  Budget is $1000 or less (I’m not a professional woodworker).  Don’t want portable.  I’m looking at Ridgid, Dewalt, Delta, Craftsman and even found some factory refurbished Grizzly that would fit the budget.  

2006 Volvo 780 "Hoss" Volvo D12, 465hp, 1650 ft/lbs tq., ultrashift

Bed Build by "JW Morgan's Custom Welding"

2017 DRV 39DBRS3

2013 Smart Passion Coupe "Itty Bitty"

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first!"

1 hour ago, Alie&Jim's Carrilite said:

If it's a cast iron top that is flat and the fence stays true,  I'd find an electric motor shop and get a motor for it.  

Oh yeah.  It was built when Craftsman still built really good power tools. Gonna look to refurbish since Craftsman still has parts availabile but dreaming if I can’t make it work.  BTW a factory refurb Grizzly sounds nice 👍.

2017 DRV 39DBRS3

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first!"

Is there a craigslist (or Let Go or Facebook Marketplace) for your area? If so, old tools are often listed for sale. When I sold my house, my realtor listed a bunch of Craftsman (and other stuff) for me and, almost all of it sold.

I like the suggestion re: new motor or, new brushes for you old motor.

If you can't (or don't want to) repair your current saw, I'd be heavily in favor of a refurb Delta or Grizzly . I have a Delta Uni-Saw and for the prices I've seen lately, I think you could do pretty well in that market. (<$1K)

Paul & Paula + Daisy the amazing wiggle worm dog...

2001 Volvo 770 Autoshift, Singled, w/ Aluminum Bed - Toy Draggin

2013 395AMP XLR Thunderbolt Toy Hauler

2013 Smart Passion

2012 CanAm Spyder RT

2013 Harley Davidson Street Glide

11 hours ago, Alie&Jim's Carrilite said: