Volvo Refrigerator Fixed for $184

Radar274

Our OEM Frig had a mind of it’s own, it usually worked when we were traveling down the road but not always when we were parked.  I am a complete layman when it comes to refrigeration, so when the Frig finally came to rest on our last trip I thought I would just replace it with a new one.  NOT…. have you priced one of these units?  WOW Lots of $$$$$ from Volvo. I didn’t have any luck finding a new or used one on the web at a reasonable price. So I started Googling how to troubleshoot these refrigerators and found some good links on the boating forums. I read that the Danfoss compressors used in these refrigerators are very robust and 90% of the time the issues are electrical.  I followed the links from the forums and watched videos until I finally had the confidence to tear into it… What did I have to lose it was already toast.  The trouble shooting videos had 2 easy suggestions to try.  First run wire directly from the batteries to make sure you have good power to the refrigerator.  I did that and it still didn’t work, the fan and compressor would try to start for a second and then stop. The next suggestion was to unplug the fan because if it was drawing too much the controller would shut everything off.  Bingo… unplugged the fan motor and the compressor fired up.  I then connected the fan directly to the battery (not thru the controller) so it would run all the time and plugged the refrigerator in to see if the compressor would keep running… success.  I ordered a fan and plugged it into the controller when it came, it ran for a second and shut off.  The controller in our refrigerator is an older model and I had read they have been known to fail from low voltage and heat so I ordered one and everything is working and DW is very happy.  I did run new wire from the batteries to the refrigerator(10 awg) because I found that I only had 11.4 volts at the refrigerator plug when it was running using the factory wire harness. The