Advices for towing installation on a Mazda CX-9 in Toronto

Vince

Hi there, 

I'm a total newbie and we've planned to buy a light camper trailer (around 1500 lbs).

I have a 2017 MAZDA CX-9 and the class 3 hitch is already installed.

I would like to get some help from somebody knowing the Toronto GTA and well experienced on the towing topic.

I need to find a place to get a 7 way wiring installation and advices about the good and bad things to buy and to do.

Is somebody on that forum willing to help me in that matter ?

Thanks, Vince.

no not sure to need a 7 pin plug. 

I need brakes pin (brakes controller), lights pins, battery recharge pin. The camper could be a STARCRAFT 2106 Series or a Quicksilver 8.0 with brakes (we will hopefully buy it this coming week or the next one ; that's why I need to install the wiring soon) 

What do you think I'll need? 

Thanks!

ok I have so many questions and I'm spending so much time on Internet (without a lot of success I have to tell) that I think that it would be really nice to speak to experienced real people face to face.
Is somebody willing to meet 30min/1h in Toronto to guide me for our next 6 months trip in USA with a camper ?

Thanks, Vince.

On November 10, 2018 at 1:59 PM, DQDanny said:

a 1500# trailer?   You sure you need a 7 pin RV plug?  Would an adapter possibly work  for you.  An adapter would be used to adapt from a 5 pin on your vehicle to 7 pin......if I understood your question.

I'm about to buy a Livin'Lite Quicksilver camper (around 1000lbs).

My understanding of wiring is that I will need for that camper :

Ground / Tail lights / Right turn / Left turn

Meaning I need a flat 4-pin for that, right ?

But what about the battery ? 

There is no fridge nor heater in that camper, so do you thing I’ll need the aux power to charge the battery ?

If not what kind of battery should I take ? (deep cycle ?)