A question For Those of you that work from your rv.

coachmac9

If you work full time from your RV...say you do on-line teaching or any other work that requires you to work IN the rv or use part of  it as your office, can you claim part or all of your RV payment (if you have one) as your office on your income tax or is it not worth the risk? Thanks!

I am a attorney but do not specialize in tax law. The laws regarding deducting for a in home office are very strict. For a sticks and bricks house the area must be used exclusively as an office and your business must not have another Office location. For an RV it may be difficult to argue that an area is exclusively used as an office. I have seen some 5th wheel toy haulers that use the garage exclusively but that may be an exception in the RV world. Depending on the amount of tax saved I think it may not be worth taking the deduction. Also the under the new tax laws the standard deduction has been doubled so you may not even itemize. I highly recommend that you consult a tax lawyer. 

2015 Itasca Ellipse 42QD

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Hard Rock Edition

2021 Harley Street Glide Special 

Fulltimer

3 hours ago, Twotoes said:

I highly recommend that you consult a tax lawyer. 

Sound advice and the same applies to your travel expenses. My IRS investigator friend tells me that business expense and travel expense are the most closely watched items on individual income tax returns. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

Thanks Kirk and Twotoes, and yes, that is sound advice! I really didn't think it would be a viable option but figured I would ask, just in case it might be. I had my once in a lifetime (I hope) run in with the IRS and it wasn't fun!!! Definitely don't want to go there again!!

36 minutes ago, coachmac9 said:

Definitely don't want to go there again!!