Is this really true?

Chalkie

I read a news article about a Jimmy John's driver that took a veteran on disability to an emergency room as the vet "didn't have Department of Veterans Affairs' approval to call an ambulance". Is this really true? You have to jump through silly hoops if there is an emergency?

I am a veteran but do not use the VA, but this just sounds fishy to me. Hopefully one of you all that do use VA services can enlighten me. 

SignatureNewest.jpg.a1bc8322b0862056fd28e25d5b1458db.jpg

I don't want to start false information but I believe there can be an issue in some cases and it would good to get the correct information now so you will know.  I think I know more than I remember😀 and I should update my knowledge about this sooner than later.

"Veterans do not need to check with VA before calling for an ambulance or going to an ER. However, promptly notifying the nearest VA medical facility of the emergency care and transportation is very important in VA being able to potentially reimburse costs."

https://www.va.gov/COMMUNITYCARE/docs/pubfiles/factsheets/FactSheet_20-05.pdf

Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F-53 Chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/brake system

20 minutes ago, TheDuke said:

The VA doesn't have ambulance service. To say they denied ambulance service is totally wrong. Either delete your post or get the accurate information.

No reason for the OP to delete his post.  He didn't "say they denied ambulance service", he simply quoted an article that he had read and asked here if it was accurate.

Everybody wanna hear the truth, but everybody tell a lie.  Everybody wanna go to Heaven, but nobody want to die.  Albert King

This is the article from the Kansas City Star:  https://www.kansascity.com/news/nation-world/article220598360.html  

From that article: