Should I change domicile from OR?

OregonJim

Hi all,

I've noticed that most full-timers seem to end up changing their domicile state to SD, FL, or TX.  

I've been an Oregon resident for the last 30 years, and my wife and I plan to start full-timing next year.  I've not yet found a compelling reason to change domicile, but I may have missed something.

Our state has no sales tax, but it does have an income tax.  However, since we are both early retired & disabled, that is not an issue.  Vehicle registrations and licenses are reasonable.  We vote by mail.  We can use our son's address (adjacent town) for mail forwarding after we sell the house, and there are a couple of good forwarding services we can switch to if he ever moves out of state.  We both have Medicare with a supplement plan.  We've discussed our exit strategy, but the only unknown is where we will end up.  It may or may not be Oregon (more likely not).  The only disadvantage that I can see is having to come all the way to the West Coast for doctor visits.  We'd like to move our doctors to a more centrally located state.

Is it possible to be domiciled in one state with primary medical care in another?  Am I overlooking something important?  I want to make sure we do everything 'by the book' from a legal standpoint.  At the same time, I'm finding the laws a bit hazy when it comes to full-timers.  Thanks for sharing your knowledge and experience!

-Jim

38 minutes ago, OregonJim said:

Our state has no sales tax, but it does have an income tax.  However, since we are both early retired & disabled, that is not an issue.