Options for family of 6

Matt

Newbie here.  Feeling a bit overwhelmed with decision on what to use for tow vehicle.  We are a family of 6 (four kids ages 5 to 12) planning to go full time traveling US and Canada for at least a couple of years once we sell our house.  Will be purchasing Jayco North Point fifth wheel weighing in up to 17k lbs loaded.  Is a 1 ton dually diesel enough to pull safely?  Down side would be having a kid in front row.  Considering HDT but not sure about practibility for driving around when unhitched.  Prefer to only have one engine to maintain but not completely opposed to small car on HDT bed although wouldn't be large enough for the whole family.  Wife doesn't want to drive separate car while I drive truck when we move from one spot to the next.   I know we aren't the only large family doing this.  Appreciate any insight, advice, pros/cons.  Thanks in advance!

I have 6 kids. We traveled in a suburban for along time. Then the older 2 graduated so I was able to get a crew cab pickup and 5th wheel.

Having a kid in the front row sucks. I did it for many years. Now my 3rd oldest is gone so I only travel with 3 kids. Unfortunately there is not much you can do. I put the 2 kids with car seats and boosters in the back and the skinniest teenager in the front. She made a good cup holder.

You can go HDT and fit a 4 seat bench out of a sprinter van across the back.  It works but I didn't like the looks of it. Another option is the booth type seating in the sleeper. That will fit 4 kids. I prefer my kids face forward. I fit 3 bucket seats out of a 2000-2006 Chevy pickup with built in seat belts in the sleeper. Remember kids grow. You will continually have less and less room.