New RV - let's have some FUN here!!!

johnschnee

"Honey-Bunch" & I have been RVing for five years, having purchased (new) a 2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35K. We've had a GREAT time with it - not too many "problems" with it, excepting those we've created for ourselves, of course! It's called a "learning curve" & it can be pretty steep, sometimes! Anyway, we found a NEW coach (2019 Fleetwood Southwind 36P) that we'll be picking up next week & immediately take camping: first, just a 3-night "shakedown cruise" to work out any "bugs" (straight back to the dealership if we do find any!), then the following week we are off for a month-long trip through the SE USA.

Here's my question: If YOU were to be starting out with a new rig - your 2nd - what would you do differently? I've come up with a few things already!

1. Keep a more thorough "maintenance log" of date & mileage of oil changes, generator services, etc. (Admitting I wasn't always so thorough with our first rig!) 

2. Apply 303 Aerospace Protectant to all "non-tread" surfaces of all tires REGULARLY! (Didn't know about this product until the 3rd year with first rig.)

ANY useful suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!  THANKS!!!! 🙂 

While I agree with #1, I sure wouldn't waste my money and time on #2. Motorhome tires almost always get replaced due to age well before they are worn out anyway but I did use tire covers when stopped for more than just a night or two. 

Wash and wax the coach at least twice each year and check the roof and all caulking each time. I also sent an oil sample to Blackstone Labs at each oil change to keep an eye on what was happening in the engine. I made sure to do all other chassis maintenance as the book specified and sent a sample of the transmission fluid to Blackstone when it was changed. Since this is a gas rig you will also need to change the brake fluid periodically(I did so every 5 years). 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.