Finally Did it! Dropped Fiver!

Dennis M

As many of you know I am not a newby, I've been towing fivers for 20+ years and have had the current truck/trailer combo for 11 years, 100k plus miles, and on the road five or six months a year. 

Wednesday morning we hitched up completely as normal. Both of us checked that the jaws were closed, I did a test pull before we retracted the front jacks all the way, everything fine. Got in the cab, ran through our check list, started to pull out and BANG, trailer is on the ground! In reconstructing it appears that neither of us looked to confirm that the release handle on the Trailer Saver had clicked into place. In our defense we did have a guy there asking about the truck and the car as we were hitching up.

Anyway, no serious damage. Bigfoot jacks lifted the trailer right back up and we re-hitched - carefully - and headed on down the road. Small gouge in the front cap from the corner of the hitch plate since we were hitching at an angle (saying that I wonder if that had anything to with the failure?) That evening I spent a couple of hours rebuilding the front closet that had collapsed from the impact. Fortunately Newmar used mostly screws instead of staples so it was just a matter of pulling them out and relocating them a bit to get things back together. 

Needless to say we will be checking more carefully from now on!

Dennis & Nancy
Tucson, AZ in winter, on the road in summer.

1999 Volvo 610 "Bud" 425 HP Volvo, Super 10 spd.
2005 Mountain Aire 35 BLKS
2013 smart fortwo CityFlame riding on Bud
(Replaced '05 smart first loaded in '06

and '11 smart that gave it's life to save me!)
Our Travel Blog

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You are supposed to take off fast enough so if it does fall down, the rv will clear the back of your truck. I had this happen at a Good Sam Ralley. Quite the audience. Luckily I cleared the truck. 

Ron C.

2013 Dynamax Trilogy 3850 D3

2000 Kenworth T2000 Optimus Prime