Need Towing Instruction NH

CarlC

Hi Everyone!  So, I am beyond newbie status both here and as an RV owner.  Just took delivery on my 19 ft travel trailer in which I plan to full time beginning in September.  However,  I have NO towing experience and the thought of backing into campsites has me very apprehensive.  Would like to find someone to teach me how to drive and especially back this beast before I hit the road.  I am in New Hampshire and have searched some but have not found any resources here.  If anyone knows of potential instruction sources,  I would very much appreciate the information.  Thanks and have a great day!!

Welcome to the forum!

Find a large empty parking lot where you can practice turns and backing up until you're more comfortable with the trailer run out when cornering, etc. School parking lots on weekends may be an option with permission.  Backing up, place your hand at the bottom of the steering wheel and move your hand in the direction you want the trailer to go. As with many things, practice, practice, practice...

Oh, and the parking lot could also be a good place to work out clear hand signals if you have someone that will be traveling with you that can act as a spotter. Hand signals should be big and easily understood. The spotter should point with their whole arm instead of just a finger for instance.

Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F-53 Chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/brake system

Thanks Dutch!  Yes, I will definitely need practice.  One issue I have is that my driveway is long  and uphill with the parking spot at right angles to it.  Afraid if I take the trailer out, I will not get it back in!  Might just  have to stay in place until we move out  of the house in August and I find a place to store it with better accessibility.  

Thanks again!

Carl