Where do I begin?

Scotcharoos

Hello!

I’ve never done a forum post before, so I’m unsure how this works.

I’m very young and have been traveling from state to state due to my Dad’s job for a long time. I don’t have many belongings, and I have close friends all over the U.S. that I’ve gained from consistent online interaction and convention meetings. I absolutely love experiencing new things and traveling, and I’ve never felt particularly attached to one place, but I don’t go outside very much due to work and school taking up my current time. I’d like to visit these friends, meet new people, and see new and exciting places!   

I’ve been working with Escapees for a little over a year now, and I’ve been feeling very envious of their lifestyle. Seeing as businesses are moving more online, and I’m a very tech savvy hard worker, I feel like I have a good chance working successfully from an RV. At my current pace I should be done with college before or by the time I turn old enough to legally rent a motor home. However, I don’t know where to begin. I have SKP friends that have told me that transitioning to the lifestyle takes a lot of work and preparation. I am absolutely positively ready to save up and work towards this goal, but at the moment my only knowledge is that it’s difficult, pricey, you need training in multiple areas, and very little belongings.

Where do I begin? I have years to prepare, but how should I start?

Secondly, do you guys think my goal is unrealistic or too ill-informed? Please, let me know what you recommend, I'd like to hear more opinions aside from my idealized view of traveling! 

In addition to Escapees, you might want to go over and poke around on the Cheap RV Living site.

Consider also supplementing web sites with a few good books on such subjects as Buying a Good Used RV and Living in an RV Full Time.