Domicile question

Ami Sarasvati

Newbie here. Plan to split my year between NH and the southwest. Need to register the new truck and fifth wheel in the next few weeks. I am trying to wrap my head around the domicile issue and how to do this properly but intelligently. Do I need to drive to (for example if I choose Texas) in my truck and RV and register everything there? Is it worth it?

Welcome to the forum.

So you're going to live in an RV full time?  What is your domicile now?  

Many full timers choose domicile based on low or no state income tax, low sales tax, low vehicle registration fees, etc.  That is why Tx, SD and Fla are often chosen.  But, other considerations include healthcare coverage.  If your health insurance is good anywhere, you're golden.  Vehicle insurance could also be a consideration.  If domiciled in Fla, your rates will likely be higher than SD. 

8 hours ago, Ami Sarasvati said:

Newbie here. Plan to split my year between NH and the southwest. Need to register the new truck and fifth wheel in the next few weeks. I am trying to wrap my head around the domicile issue and how to do this properly but intelligently. Do I need to drive to (for example if I choose Texas) in my truck and RV and register everything there? Is it worth it?

You didn't say why NH.  Do you currently live there?  Own a house?  Plan to keep it?  If so, I can't think of any reason to "domicile" in TX.  NH doesn't have a state income tax.

Regards

John

DON'T FEED THE VULTURES!

My Body is a Temple!  Ancient, Crumbling, Probably Cursed . . .

I Don't Like to Make Advanced Plans.  They Cause the Word "PREMEDITATED" to Get Thrown Around in Court!

MyMapS.jpg