Hooking up house current to MH

jlc1988

Hi y'all. 

I'm still learning about our MH and its various features. Y'all should've seen us trying to unfurl the awning😂.  Anyway, I was curious if it is possible to hook up electricity from the house to the MH. The run from the nearest outlet to the MH is about 35'. Can you use a regular extension cord or do I need a special cord?

Thanks in advance!

That might be pushing it , at least at start up of the AC . That's when the highest draw of 'juice' occurs .

If you have a construction grade ( one that's built for heavy draw ) extension cord , you might be alright . 

Goes around , comes around .

We have an outlet on the outside of the house on its own  50  amp circuit, used for the emergency house generator, so we plug our trailer in there.   The trailer is a 50 amp service, and we use a HEAVY 50 amp cord to run from our outlet to the trailer's line, so we should be able to run everything as if we were hooked up at a site.

While you can do this, your motorhome has a power cord with a 30A plug which is configured differently than your extension cord. The first picture below is of the plug that your motorhome has.

31tkxN-ucmL._AC_US218_.jpg    31vdYJBAn4L._AC_US218_.jpg

The second picture is of the adapter that you will need to connect the extension cord to your motorhom'e power plug. As stated before, you will have limited power as your house outlet is probably connected to a 15a circuit breaker. In addition, you should make sure that your extension cord and the outlet that it is connected to do not overheat, as could happen.

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI