Waccamaw

Patriot Act and Customer Identification by Financial Institutions

I have used a personal mailbox (PMB) through UPS for over 9 years.  I recently received a phone call from my broker at Morgan Stanley that my mailbox address kicks out of their system since it is not a valid "physical address" for me. I have been a customer with them over 20 years. As a full-time RVer, I do not have a physical address.  My broker advised that they will not accept the SKP Livingston address.  Has anyone else experienced this problem, particularly at Morgan Stanley?  My only option is to close my account.  And, there is a distinct possibility they will hold my funds until full verification is made according to their rigid requirements (which are more stringent than the US government).   I am not a lawyer, but it appears to me that financial institutions have work-around options to verify the identity of their customers.  I have passports, military id cards, VA cards, credit cards, birth certificate.  But, I might as well be living under a bridge as far as the Patriot Act is concerned.  

The Patriot Act expired several years ago. Some financial institution still have an internal policy that mirrors the act. It seems like your institutions internal policy is one of them. They are very difficult to make changes. You may have to look for a new broker or bank. If you do decide to close your present accounts just have the funds wired to the new institution to avoid any delays in sending funds to a PMB. 

56 minutes ago, Waccamaw said:

My broker advised that they will not accept the SKP Livingston address.  Has anyone else experienced this problem, particularly at Morgan Stanley?

Call the Escapees business office and talk with them about this problem. It is one that they have dealt with many times over the years.

(936)327-8873

1 hour ago, Waccamaw said:

As a full-time RVer, I do not have a physical address . . . My only option is to close my account.