Toy Hauler Ramp

Av8r3400

There's a lot more experience here than I have on my own, so I want to pose something that I saw on Facebook and have been thinking myself, for a while.

I have a toy hauler without the rear patio option.  I didn't want the expense or the loss of space for the railings and stairs.  My UTV just fits in my garage now.

However, I've been thinking of putting on stabilizing cables to use the ramp as a limited patio.  I don't want to have a party with 20 people on there, I just want the ability to sit on a lawn chair with my DW and a cold beverage, above the bugs.  I don't want to add the railings and all that, either.

My dealer says this is impossible and will wreck the door, I need to buy the complete patio door kit, to the tune of several thousand dollars.  I feel the urge to call shenanigans on this.

As a recovering engineer, I can't wrap my mind around how a ramp that can hold a 2500 pound load between the ground edge and the hinge, but can not hold a 500 pound (at the very most) load from stay cables at the mid point.  I would even be open to making the cable brackets longer than the small u-brackets normally used.  What I mean, instead of a 4" long u-shaped bracket why not make the bracket 24 or even 48" long.   1 x 2 x 3/16" is 3 pounds per foot, making a 4 foot piece only 12 pounds (24 for both sides), yet adding considerable strength to the door frame.

Has anyone done this or had a look on the inside of their own ramp/patio door to know what the difference in construction is?

Thoughts or comments?

Av8r3400
2012 Volvo VNL 730 D13 iShift & 2021 Grand Design Momentum 397TH

TEq81qV.jpg

I'd rather die trying to live - Than live trying not to die.   -Leonard Perry

The kit quoted to me was right from the manufacturer and was a new door and the stay cables.  Something like $4200.

Av8r3400

TEq81qV.jpg