Tire Question

oldjohnt

On my Ford E 450 Super Duty Class C RV Chassis I have Firestone so called "10 Ply" Load Range E Tires on the rear duals LT 225 75 X R16. I think LT 235 75 X R16 may still fit ????

Just had the Smart Weigh performed at Escapees RV Park in Livingston and I'm a bit overweight in the rear so wondered do they make a so called "12 Ply" hopefully higher load rated tire (F maybe ???) in the LT 225 75  X 16 or LT 235 75 X 16 that will still fit my duals and give me a bit more weight rating???????????

Thanks in advance, best wishes n God Bless all here

John T

8 hours ago, oldjohnt said:

that will still fit my duals and give me a bit more weight rating???????????

As an engineer, I find it strange to see a need to address weight ratings and any attempt to increase these ratings.....   :huh:   I'll not even bother other than to tell other readers that there is a long list of validated reasons why the solution to this is not in different tires but in lower rear axle weight! 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

Load Range E, is targeted to a various weight level. 

From my research 10-12 years ago with a 16" wheel, Load Range E was the highest Load Range available. 

The sad reality is, that many manufactures build RV's (A general statement, not just targeted to Class C.), that are basically 'at' capacity, or very close to 'capacity' when they leave the factory. And shame on DOT for letting these roll out as certified ... A few, have had front end's overweight as they rolled off the factory floor. (More Class A's then C's - from what I understand(?). Evidenced by some recalling units and upgrading front ends.). 

Anyway's, you did the right thing by getting an actual Four Corner's Weight. Now you need to look at what you can do. 

-Move weight around to shift more to the front

-Go on a diet? (Class C wise:)!)