Semi / snow - Bob tail

Vegas Teacher

Bobtail, rear end will dance around a bit. Some people say to avoid exhaust brake on ice and rain. Don’t be in a hurry and find a speed you feel comfortable. I personally don’t ever plan to drive the truck with or without a trailer in the snow and ice. Just not my cup of tea as I’ve had some terrifying experiences in cars and pickups. Saying that no other way to get experience. 

2006 Volvo 780 "Hoss" Volvo D12, 465hp, 1650 ft/lbs tq., ultrashift

Bed Build by "JW Morgan's Custom Welding"

2017 DRV 39DBRS3

2013 Smart Passion Coupe "Itty Bitty"

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first!"

OOOHhhhh man, IF you do this BE CAREFUL! Been there done that! Like Suite Success said, they will dance around. Be very gentle on the throttle and easy on the brakes. The stopping part is probably the most challenging, but keep in mind that when I did it ABS was in its infancy and the one truck I drove that had it the ABS was disconnected.

VisitedStatesMap.gif

Cory 

If you have a hauler body installed it will help but it still will be the worst thing you have ever driven in the snow.  I know some commercial drivers won’t even consider driving in the snow without a trailer.

Hopefully the weather cooperates and you don’t have to get the experience.

Nigel

2006 Volvo VNL 430, 2006 smart cabrio cdi, 2000 Triple E Topaz 30'

I would add to the above: Don't use the cruise control on any kind of slippery road conditions.  Biggest problem I have had in the past is going down a steep grade with a curve at the bottom.  Backend wants to break loose.  Brake early and not in the turn.

Chet & Deb
'01 Volvo 660 w/ Smart
'19 Forest River Columbus 320RS 5th wheel
2022 Chev 2500HD Long Bed
Retired CWO4, USN and federal service
Electronics Tech/Network Engineer/Welder/Machinist