Terrifyingly Enthusiastic!

Sal

Hey all! The husband and I are due to pick up our motorhome on Tuesday. We have a place to store it for a month (or more if needed) to get all the this's and that's we need (got our first order today, sidewinder, water hose, water filter etc...)

I am a writer and will continue to work from our RV, the husband will have to quit the job he has now, but is an actor and picks up gigs here and there (hoping to take a fun trip to LA now and again).

We've been able to solve/adapt to most of the problems that have come up in planning this new, crazy lifestyle we want to lead, but there is one issue we might need some help with. Right now, our most reliable car is my Kia, but it is an automatic transmission. It is light enough to be good for flat towing, but my research has indicated we will need to have some kind of lubricating system installed. I'm wondering if that will be worth it. We've also looked into purchasing a used towing trailer, though that comes with its own drawbacks. I almost think we need to buy a manual, but we just financed our RV and I am wary to try and finance another vehicle. 

I'd like to go with the cheapest option, but hope that the cheapest will also be the smartest. What do you think? 

(And thank you! I am so excited to learn from this forum!)

Sal,

Your enthusiasm is contagious and I want to thank you for it.  I enjoyed seeing people so excited about making a significant life change they are looking forward to.  I hope I can help.  

1.  Can you tell me what kind of motorhome you are picking up on Tues please.  I am just trying to get an idea of how the rig will match to your Kia.  

2.  Look in the Kia's owners manual.  It should say in it if that particular car you own is flat towable.