How many people live full-time in an RV?

Michelle K

Hi there!

I'm new to this world and was interested in finding out how many people live in an RV full time. My partner and I are exploring the idea of purchasing an RV for part-time adventures, but I'm wondering about the possibility of longer term living.

There was a thread about this 6 years ago that suggested it is close to 250,000, but I'm wondering if there is updated information anywhere.

Thanks!

Not sure what you are asking.  Two people comfortably for people count.  What is the 350,000 relative to?

Please click for Emails instead of PM
Mark & Dale
Joey - 2016 Bounder 33C Tige - 2006 40' Travel Supreme
Sparky III - 2021 Mustang Mach-e, off the the Road since 2019
Useful HDT Truck, Trailer, and Full-timing Info at
www.dmbruss.com

The last estimate I saw was one million plus traveling full timers. 

This could be tricky to estimate as many people (families, couples, singles) might be stationary in an RV due only to financial issues of the housing bubble a few years ago, the past poor economy and jobs market.  We see lots of people living in campgrounds with trailers that will never move.  Are these full timers by definition?  I don't consider them RVers.  Ten years ago full time RVers might have been more retired full time travelers.  We also meet many traveling construction workers with and without their families that spend a few weeks or months at one location and move to their next work site.  Lots of snowbirds spend their winter months in RVs but the rest of the year in a sticks & bricks.      Greg  

Greg & Judy Bahnmiller
Class of 2007
2014 F350
2007 HitchHiker Champagne

Both sold 2/19, settled in Foley, AL after 12 years on the road

http://bahnmilleradventure.blogspot.com/

27 minutes ago, Big Greg said:

We see lots of people living in campgrounds with trailers that will never move.  Are these full timers by definition?  I don't consider them RVers.