TheLongWayHome

HAM "shack" setup for your RV

12 posts in this topic

So, I'm new to RVing and plan to go full-time in the Spring of 2018. Right now trying to finalize the plan on an RV. It will probably be a customer Toy Hauler. I am a HAM (Extra) and mostly use phone and digital modes (not format generally, think DMR, D-Star, Wires-X) UHF/VHF and HF, so need to have a "quiet space".  What special setup have you done to operator your station and any special HAM shack recommendations? Pictures would help!

Will come back to the HF antenna challenges later!

I full time and am a ham (General) also.  I use the digital modes and have zero interest in HF due not only to antenna limitations in the RF, but poor propagation right now.  If I live long enough for the cycle to change I may revisit HF, but not for now.

I work DStar, DMR (limited), and C4FM.  My equipment is:

2 DStar hot spots (battery or 120v capable) on raspberry pi"s, 2 ICOM ID51A+

1 TYT MD380

1 Yaesu FT1DR

1 Verizon Jetpack

1 RAV power supply

1 Open Spot

I pretty well have the digital modes covered but spend most of my time on DStar or C4FM.  I'm not a big fan of DMR.

Ed

KM4STL, 3101156

On 7/23/2017 at 5:01 AM, edatlanta said:

I full time and am a ham (General) also.  I use the digital modes and have zero interest in HF due not only to antenna limitations in the RF, but poor propagation right now.  If I live long enough for the cycle to change I may revisit HF, but not for now.

Ed

KM4STL, 3101156

Ed,

Thanks for you input. Will try to use a screwdriver antenna on HF. Ground planes are always a challenge on fiberglass RVs.

Are there any other HAMs out there? I thought Escapees had a HAM BOF, but it does not appear to be very active. Worth joining?

Gerry

We are Michigan snowbirds.  We travel in a class A (motor home).