New to the Forums - Planning to Buy an RV

Johns1959

Hello All,

I am new to the forums and I am just beginning on this adventure of identifying the right rig for us.  First a bit about us:

My wife, Kari, and I are veteran campers having both grown up with it in our families and through scouts (boy and girl) and our own family over the years. Most of our experience is with tent camping (although we did have a pop-up for several years). Anyway our six kids (two have graduated college, one in college, and the triplets are finishing their freshman year in high school) are almost all out of the house and we are looking forward to retirement. Our dream is to see all of the national parks together and an RV seems like the appropriate way to go (although we will still be keeping a tent in our gear). We have about three years until the last of our brood are off to college and our retirement horizon is a little under ten years away. Our plan (really my plan - my wife is a bit more "spontaneous" than I am). Is to get some sort of rig (maybe another pop-up) and begin weekending and short trips once the last of the kids are off to college and then move up to a larger rig (TT or 5W) once we take the retirement plunge.  We currently drive a Ford E350 (gas V8) van which we will have to upgrade here soon (it has been a great large family vehicle but is really showing its age).