How many amp hours do I need?

We just brought home our "new to us" 2004 Southwind 37A, and the house batteries won't hold a charge. No surprise. So, I'm shopping for batteries.  Batteries+ has several different 6v Deep Cycle Duracell batteries: 230AH for $102, 235AH for $130, and 255 for $195. 

We do expect to boondock, but I don't know how to figure if the higher price-point is worth it for the greater amp hours.

I'm a complete newbie... so any advice will be greatly appreciated. My battery compartment can hold two, which I'll wire in series.

Jeff

2004 Fleetwood Southwind 37A

Retired and loving it!

www.milesandsmiles.us

event.png

It would be best if you can take an energy audit of your normal daily routine.  One way to do this would be to use an energy meter like the Kill-a-watt plugged between the shore power and your rig.  From there, you'll get an understanding of how much you'll use on a daily basis, and what capacity you'll need (which will be different if you have solar, plan to run the genny each day, etc).  For us, we have 2 6V Costco batteries which I think are equivalent to the cheapest Batteries+ version.  We have 200W of solar, and if we use battery in the evening, we'll generally be around 85% battery (depends on if we run the propane heater at night) by the morning, and the 200W of solar will recharge the batteries to 100%, IF we leave the rig during the day and do things.  If we are working in the RV on our computers and monitors and such, we basically make enough power through solar to just power everything we are using.  So, we aren't charging the battery, so I need to run the genny for a few hours to get back to 100% on days like this.

42 minutes ago, dartmouth01 said:

For us, we have 2 6V Costco batteries which I think are equivalent to the cheapest Batteries+ version.