My Life is Happy Chaos - Advice Please :D

AmyB

TLDR; I am wanting to take a year off for a career reset/freelance and RV, but I'm in complete flux over what vehicular path to take! (But please read details below if you can - context matters.) Also, if we enjoy this lifestyle, I'm certainly prepared to commit to it for longer.

Hey all! I'm a newbie to the forum and so much a newbie to RVing that I haven't started yet. Hee.

The past year has been wonderfully transformative. I got a divorce that has been long in coming, and now that I have taken care of that, I'm turning a critical eye toward my career. I'm currently employed full-time in a very niche field in high demand where, I believe, I could make a LOT more freelancing than I can where I am. I don't need to make more, however. What I really want is location-independent life, so I can work from anywhere in the country with an internet connection. (Or even out of the country, maybe, someday.) I'm just tired of the cubicle, but the nature of my current job ties me to this location.

So my best friend and I have discussed taking a year and RVing around the country with my big old dog. He's a boxer/mastiff cross, and weighs about 90 lbs. (Also he farts a fair bit - who knows, it may matter!)

Right now, I have a home I do like, with an affordable mortgage, that's pretty centrally located in between two major cities. I also own a Subaru Outback outright, but it doesn't have a tow hitch. I'm told I could have one put on at the dealer for about $700. Aftermarket elsewhere probably cheaper. I do have some savings, plus the value of my car, but I would really like to do this as cheaply and as sensibly as possible. We do have some friends in various parts of the country willing to let us set up the camper on their land for awhile, if we need to. The plan is to work and travel, and fund our lifestyle as we go.

So here are the options I've considered: