2017 Winnebago View 24g

Jim AZSod

Hi, Newbie here...I am planning to purchase/order a new Win View 24G and seeking suggestions on worthwhile options. The purchase decision is based primarily on my need for respite from being the 24/7 caregiver for my wife (Alzheimer's). We will be having more outside help, and for the sake of both of our well-beings, I need to get away for a few days to occasionally a few weeks. I have an impaired immune system and dislike motels and hotels.

An RV has always been on my bucket list plus I expect my 13 year old granddaughter and 8 year old grandson will be accompanying me on some of the trips. Most of the trips will be in the Midwest and mountain west in the summers and the Southwest in the winters. Will start without a toad but will leave that open for future consideration. My current idea is to go with the dinette (versus the couch), and the overhead bed so the kids can have separate sleeping areas. Other than that I would appreciate any ideas on possible options to enhance the experience.

Thank you.

I'd like to know more about the 2-point electric stabilizing system as our View had a tendency to wallow at curb cuts. Mercedes Benz offers an upgraded suspension system for vehicles that carry their loads high but I don't think the View has that. I had it on my last Sprinter and it was wonderful!

Depending on where you plan to be, the dual pane windows and heated drainage system might be nice.

I would get the dinette as a place to eat and play games with the kids but it may not be a wonderful bed. Our dinette cushions made a hump in the middle but as a kid I could sleep anywhere so it may not matter much to you.

I like to put a cover over the vent fan so it can be open in the rain--thus the automatic rain closer thingy never appealed to me.

I'm also a fan of solar power but if you never plan to be away from hookups that would be less important to you.

I hope you enjoy your new rig and the recharging time it allows you.