BRAND NEW RVERS

CRHOPE

I am a 61 retired school teacher. My husband is 62 and retired from the Air Force. We live in San Antonio, TX.About 4 years ago, before I retired, we decided to sell our home which we lived in for 27 years. We bought a garden home in an "active lifestyle" community for adults 55+.

We moved in October 2012. Don't get me wrong; we love our house and community, but we are house poor. Either I substitute teach or my husband does landscaping.

Our house has increased in value to about 25,000 to 30,000 dollars. However we really do not have any savings. This is not what we envisioned our retirement to be. My husband and I have been happily married for almost 44 years. I know that although we have varied interests, it has never been a problem (golf for him; learning about new places for me, among other things.)

We have a 40 year old daughter who was married at the age of 38 to a great guy. She is currently living in San Antonio after being in Dallas for 10 years. She has a great job (Topgolf) after all her hard work since graduating from Texas A&M about 18 years ago.

My daughter and her husband were told they would never have kids. Low and behold she is 3 months pregnant and the doctor says her pregnancy is low risk. In addition she just got a great a promotion and is moving to Portland, Oregon. My husband and I want to be a part of our granddaughter's life. However, with my daughter's career, we know she will be moving a lot. My husband and I have friends in our community; in fact, my best friend whom I taught with for 20 years lives here. My friend though has more income than we do. She and her husband just bought a Class A Motorhome and travel a lot. They can afford to keep their house and RV. We have to do one or the other.