Can I connect my 30amp rig at a 50amp site

cjgdds

Might seem like a stupid question, but I am new at this and taking my first extended trip. I found a park I wanted to stay at but they only had 50 amp sites available. I bought a connector that plugs into a 50 amp socket and I can plug my 30 amp cord into that but am wondering if there is any danger to my electrical system?

Thanks, Chris

You should have a 30 amp master breaker in your RV circuit breaker box. This will protect your wiring from using more than 30 amps, so there is no danger.

2004 40' Newmar Dutch Star DP towing an AWD 2020 Ford Escape Hybrid, Fulltimer July 2003 to October 2018, Parttimer now.
Travels through much of 2013 - http://www.sacnoth.com - Bill, Diane and Evita (the cat)

It's not unusual for "50 amp" sites to actually have 50, 30, and 20 amp outlets available on the pedestal. If it is actually a 50 amp only site, as Bill said, you'll be fine using your adapter. Amps are pulled from the source by the load, not pushed, so your RV will only pull as much as it needs up to the limits of the on board circuit breakers.

Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F-53 Chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/brake system

Welcome to the Escapee forums! It is great having you with us here and we will do all possible to assist you.