Pre Trip Check List

alan0043

Hi Everyone,

I see there is a couple of threads about a pre-trip check list. That got me thinking. Being a rookie, I don't have a check list. Does anyone have their list written down on paper ? What kind of things need to be on a pre-trip check list ? It would be nice to see what other people are using on their check list. For the people that have a pre-trip check list can you share your list with us ? I know it will help me. After you have your list down on paper you could have it laminated and use a grease pencil to make check marks on your list. After the list is complete you can wipe off the grease pencil and have a new sheet ready for the next trip.

Please share your list with us,

Al

2012 Volvo VNL 630 w/ I-Shift; D13 engine; " Veeger "
  Redwood, model 3401R ; 5th Wheel Trailer, " Dead Wood "
    2006 Smart Car " Killer Frog "

• Replies 192
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest THE TRAILERKING

You should be required to do the pre-trip inspection on your Volvo before piloting that thing down the road.....................Just like anyone that would have a CDL. It shouldn't matter if it's pulling commercial trailers or an RV. It's still the same truck with "air brakes".

I'm talking for the required pre-trip on the large air brake equipped truck. Not a pre-trip on your RV to make sure the stinky-slinky is tucked away.

Alan, I'm not sure if all the required info is on the checklists you find but you need to know what you are looking for, how and why.

I took my CDL and the Pretrip was a major part of the overall evaluation.

Have a look at the lists recommended, if there are questions contact me here or pm or I can provide my regular e-mail and can explain in detail with pics if needed an explanation of the item in question.

Re the trailer Pretrip, there are similarities and differences from a commercial trailer with air brakes but it is possible to put Commercial trailer speak into 5th wheel rv speak.