HDT Newbie Questions

elhajj33

Hi all, first post in here! I'm buying a toy hauler and planning on full-timing. Someone from RV.net suggested I post my tow vehicle questions here. The toyhaulder is a 2013 Keystone Raptor 365 LEV. It has a UVW of 14080 lbs (according to the sticker on the door, though the website lists it as 13,915).

Now, I'm a newbie, but i've been doing my research. I'm thinking I'll need an F-350 that's 2007 or newer. i've been pouring through the Ford towing guides on http://www.fleet.ford.com/towing-guides/. It looks to me I can pickup an F-350 that will tow about 18,000lbs.

Three questions:

1. I look online (let's say eBay) and no one lists the gear ratio in the listings (unless I'm missing it). Do i need to call for every truck I'm interested

2. Any suggestions for what I should get? I'm looking in the 20k to 30k

3. I almost fear asking this one, but: how many miles are too many on a diesel? Should i be looking sub 100,000miles ? Sub 50,000 miles?

Are you looking for a Ford 350 or a HDT? HDT is a semi tractor that normally is converted for RV towing use.

The Ford F350 with the proper setup- gearing etc, will be ok at the 18-19k lb mark and under. Go over and you need more truck.

Mileage on the dually diesel engines- properly maintained 100k is no issue- but if it has had a programmer or tuner on it, all bets are off. I would stay away from the 6.0 Fords.

Personally I'm a Dodge fan. The newer Dodge Rams are pretty impressive with their abilities. We weigh right at 18500-19000lbs and tow with a Volvo 610 as seen in the avatar.

Alie & Jim + 8 paws

2017 DRV Memphis 

BART- 1998 Volvo 610

Lil'ole 6cyl Cummins

Welcome to the forum!

I have an F-350 Dually 4x4 Crew-cab pulling a similar sized Toy Hauler and I can tell you that you will be at the max for that truck, even with adding air bags for the suspension and heavy duty transmission cooler.