Pundit thinks that Tesla's batteries won't solve their short term problems...

In this article a pundit for Business Insider says that Tesla's main business is cars and focusing on the new SUV and the new "mass market" vehicles are more important than the home battery everyone thinks is what Elon Musk is going to announce on April 30th.

http://www.businessinsider.com/a-home-battery-isnt-going-to-solve-teslas-short-term-challenges-2015-4

In the same article he says that Musk could become the Standard Oil of home and vehicle batteries.

The two biggest investments most Americans make are their homes and their cars. Sure, if you own a business (and the building your business is in) that would be big, too; but most people own neither a business nor a business building. So it looks to me like Elon Musk is CEO of the only outfits in the world that are aiming major products at both of these markets.

I have been saying for at least 20 years that enough solar panels on enough rooftops just in the US and we would never have to build another fossil-fuel or nuclear point-source generation plant. And it would be cheaper, too.

Musk is poised to dominate that market.

Of course the power utilities are going to fight this tooth-and-nail. In fact they already are. Some states are penalizing home solar for what the utilities are calling a "free ride" on the grid. And if they succeed they may see the one thing that they really would not want; large scale abandonment of the grid even by a population with an easy connection. Penalize them too much and Musk could step in and say "so what?. You don't need GE or whoever supplies your power. With solar panels and our battery bank you can be free of them for the rest of your life."