Best way to plan?

Hi everyone,

Since I'm a newbie, I have a few questions still.

I'm starting to work on our destination after we leave our first campground the end of April.

How far in advance do you plan? Do you make reservations 6 months out? Longer? Since we're just starting out during camping season, I'm a bit worried as places fill up. Anyone have any advice for me?

Thanks,

Christine

It's all fine and dandy until someone's marshmallow catches fire!

2015 Ford F-250 6.2L (She ain't diesel but she hauls ass!)

2012 Jayco Pinnacle 36KPTS

Http://www.5thwheelgypsy.blogspot.com

Depends on where you are going. If you were going to, say, Florida in January I would make reservations months in advance. If you are going to a tourist attraction area, reservations as early as you can.

Many campgrounds and resorts fill up on Fridays and empty on Sundays.

I would say, for a while anyway, plan your route, then plan how far you will go each day, then look for parks or resorts close to that location and reserve at least a week or two in advance. In this way you will gain experience on the what and where of overnight stays.

If your plan calls for a longer stay, definitely reserve as far in advance as you can. If you don't you might find yourself having to move from site to site as the week progresses. Often returning RVs request certain sites they like best.

RV Park Reviews is a good site to check on various parks you might be considering.

GS Lifetime #822128658, FMCA #F431170

2012 Airstream Mercedes Interstate Extended Class B