OT: Tools

SuiteSuccess

Ok, like several on this forum I'm a tool nut. My dad was an old time auto mechanic and I inherited some Snap-On wrenches from him as well as a tool box. Snap-On very pricey, Matco pricey, Craftsman moderate. I have some of all three brands. I also own a fair amount of Kobalt ratchets and ratchet wrenches. So my question in standard wrenches and ratchets etc. are we comparing a Rolex (Snap-On) to a Timex (Kobalt) as far as true quality or is this basically brand loyalty that drives the pricing?

2006 Volvo 780 "Hoss" Volvo D12, 465hp, 1650 ft/lbs tq., ultrashift

Bed Build by "JW Morgan's Custom Welding"

2017 DRV 39DBRS3

2013 Smart Passion Coupe "Itty Bitty"

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first!"

Carl, I am no mechanic by any means but in the old days,I would have said Rolex to Timex, but the guys at the shop here say that Snap-on used to rarely break and Snap-on always replaced the rare broken tool. Now they say Snap-on breaks as easily as anything else, it is just that the truck rolls by on a regular basis making it easier to replace/exchange all the broken stuff.

MY PEOPLE SKILLS ARE JUST FINE.
~It's my tolerance to idiots that needs work.~

2005 Volvo 780 VED12 465hp / Freedomline transmission
singled mid position / Bed by Larry Herrin
2018 customed Mobile Suites 40KSSB3 

2014 smart Fortwo

This should be an interesting topic.