How hard is it to set up a cell yagi antenna?

I think we're going to be in a marginal cell spot for a couple of months later this year. The Verizon map shows 3G in the area around the campground and, when I was there a bit over 2 years ago I recall it was only a bar or two of 3G.

I already use a Wilson Sleek cradle and it makes a great difference. I'm toying with the idea of an outside antenna (as opposed to the little window mag mount) and thinking that as seldom as I need that serious of a signal boost that I might want to push it a bit farther and get a yagi directional antenna.

However, I've never used one. As an Amateur Radio operator I'm familiar with aiming antennas (my old tri-bander had a 30 foot wingspan). However, I'm wondering about aiming one of these little jewels.

How hard is it? I'm imagining using a phone app to give me the general direction to the tower, mounting the yagi on a push up pole and then use the phone bars to tell me when I'm aimed properly.

So what's the scoop?

Thanks.

Our "Here and There" Blog

2005 Safari Cheetah Motorhome

Plus the update rate on the signal strength bars is NOT real time. You have to move the yagi a little and wait, move a little and wait. takes time. If you find a phone app that gives you real time signal strength please let us know.

Lenp

USN Retired
2002 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom

2012 F150 4x4

2018 Lincoln MKX

2019 HD Ultra Limited

I agree with what the others said.

Use your phone signal strength indicator, or the modem signal strength indicator - NOT the bars - to determine your signal strength. But you still have to move the antenna in small increments and then wait some.