12v light wiring dead

lhowemt

Hi Again-

We have one light (of course the main coach one) that is not working. It is the original 2 @12v lamp fixture, on a 1998 Jamboree. It worked when we bought it last fall,, but went out on our first camping trip. I checked the wiring (I am no electrical expert) and I seem to have no voltage and no continuity. I did the same tests on another light that works for comparison. Every other light works. Oh my, how to figure out where the wiring has connectors or a harness, yikes! I guess I am looking for some general advice. Since it is raining out and still winter I am not going to crawl under the beast to see what I can find. I am hoping they don't have connectors in a hidden location and that there will be a way for me to trace back to find where the connection has been lost. I sure am glad I tested this instead of assuming it is the old crappy light fixture!

Laura

I agree with Bill about the bulb. Are we correct in assuming that your readings mean that you are familiar with reading both voltages and resistance? Did you measure from the lead to a known good ground when checking for voltage? The fuses which you say look good must be checked with an ohm meter to be sure as they can fail and not be blown and so look good. I think that it is very unlikely that you have a fuse for just one light.

Is this light controlled by a wall switch, or just by the switch on the light fixture? Switches do fail, light bulbs and sockets fail but the wiring very rarely does so. I am wondering what you used for a ground to measure voltage between when checking for voltage to the light?

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI